More Mobile Maps

Introduction

At the moment there exists a lot of "mobile maps" but only a few are really useable and free. In a previous blog I compared Virtual Earth Mobile 1.64 (VEM) with Google Mobile Maps 1.2.3 beta (GMM). Today I compare the following:

  1. Map24 Mobile
  2. WIEN Pocket Map I
  3. WIEN Pocket Map II

Map24 Mobile

Url: http://www.de.map24.com

I found nothing about Map24 Mobile at www.de.map24.com so I created an account for Map24 in order to write a short inquiry to support of Map24 (2006-07-29 12:40) … Since I got never an answer from Map24 support I tried it again and found the Map24 download link. So I downloaded and installed Map24 Mobile and to describe it with one word: Excellent! Like the desktop version (Web) the mobile version will zoom quickly even if using just a GPRS connection. It’s really phantastic to use this peace of software (only Beta at the moment but never chrashes and provides some useful features).

WIEN Pocket Map

Url1: http://www.wien.gv.at/stadtplanpda/default.htm

Url2: http://www.wien.gv.at/stadtplan/sucheppc.asp

Only web-based and only maps for vienna available (see the name ;-)). There are two similar editions of WIEN Pocket Map but I don’t know why. You may use my Pocket PC simulator at www.hfrmobile.com to play with WIEN Pocket Map:

  1. Go to http://www.hfrmobile.com
  2. Klick "Mobile" at the top of the page (blue bar with white text/links)
  3. In the simulator click: Download > Mobile Link Collection > WIEN Pocket Map I or II

About hfrmobile

Nice guy but with a sarcastic type of humor. I have combined hobby and profession and I am happy about this. At the moment I am holding MCP, MCSE (NT 4.0), MCTS and MCPD certificates. Having experience in developing software for more than 15 years. Started learning programming using Pascal, Assembler, C/C++. Also having experience with non-Microsoft products / programming languages (e.g. PHP). Most experiences at the moment: MySQL, MS-SQL, PL/SQL, ASP.NET, C#, Silverlight (Windows Phone) and WPF.
This entry was posted in Navigation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

