Windows Live applications

 

Common applications / Urls

Here is a list of applications (urls) I have alreay used or just tested:

Windows Live Writer

Just tested the Windows Live Writer Beta and it works. I have written this blog using Windows Live Writer and it as simple as writing a Word document! There exists also an Plug-In for RSS Bandit!

If you look at the binary content of a .wpost file you may see that’s a Word document. As far I know the drafts can only be stored locally (\My Documents\My Weblog Posts\Drafts). Workaround for this: I use WebDAV to store it on a server which I can access from everywhere. Spell checking works like in Word. See screen-shot above and you see what happen if I tried to publish this blog….. So, okay no screen-shots. Used Copy&Paste in HTML view in order to not lose all my work. It’s a BETA and works like a BETA! Also got error messages while uploading images…

Windows Live Toolbar

Tabbed Browsing using IE6!, Writer Plug-In, etc.

Windows Live Local AddIn für Outlook

This is just not useable at the moment (Beta). May work for the USA. But in Europe I can’t use it in a meaningful way.

Windows Live Messenger

I am using Windows Live Messenger 8.0 for my MSN Hotmail account (= Passport Account = Windows Live ID).

Mobile

Some services are also available as a mobile version (e.g. MSN Spaces, Windows Live Mail, Live.com).

About hfrmobile

Nice guy but with a sarcastic type of humor. I have combined hobby and profession and I am happy about this. At the moment I am holding MCP, MCSE (NT 4.0), MCTS and MCPD certificates. Having experience in developing software for more than 15 years. Started learning programming using Pascal, Assembler, C/C++. Also having experience with non-Microsoft products / programming languages (e.g. PHP). Most experiences at the moment: MySQL, MS-SQL, PL/SQL, ASP.NET, C#, Silverlight (Windows Phone) and WPF.
This entry was posted in Windows Live. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

