IE7

Betas

Imho the Betas worked better than the RC…!?

Release Canditate

In many cases very, very slow! Slowest at Live.com pages!
I found some strange things:
  • Microsoft Internationalized Domain Names Mitigation APIs
  • Microsoft National Language Support Downlevel APIs

Since I am a developer and I couldn’t remember that I have installed such APIs (Application Programming Interface) I deinstalled them because they looked like AdAware or other bad stuff.

Next time I started my PC (Windows XP Professional) The explorer.EXE couldn’t be started because normaliz.dll was missing. Empty desktop without anything on the screen. Only Ctrl+Alt+Del could be used to start the TaskManager and execute cmd for example. Also Internet Explorer not worked (missing als this normaliz.dll thing).

So I needed to start Firefox setting the UserAgent to IE6 in order to outwit Microsoft’s update and download pages for IE. Also executing Setup not worked.

Final solution: Manually downloaded (using Firefox) normaliz.dll and saved it under %systemroot%\system32 directory.

Microsoft, please fix this problem!

Release

Ok, it works…

About hfrmobile

Nice guy but with a sarcastic type of humor. I have combined hobby and profession and I am happy about this. At the moment I am holding MCP, MCSE (NT 4.0), MCTS and MCPD certificates. Having experience in developing software for more than 15 years. Started learning programming using Pascal, Assembler, C/C++. Also having experience with non-Microsoft products / programming languages (e.g. PHP). Most experiences at the moment: MySQL, MS-SQL, PL/SQL, ASP.NET, C#, Silverlight (Windows Phone) and WPF.
This entry was posted in Windows. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

